Setting Intentions for 2018

 

A year ago I explored the idea of why I don’t like setting goals and decided that instead of creating New Year’s Resolutions, I’d try something that seemed less restrictive and wouldn’t engage my borderline neurotic tendencies. Side stepping the pressure and persistent focus on “achieving” that goals often cause for me, I decided instead to define concept areas that I wanted to embrace and cultivate throughout the year. This worked well for me, and so I thought I’d try it again. And behold… My Intentions for 2018. In addition to the ones I named last year (Freedom and Travel, Vitality and Health, Joy and Growth), I created the following:

  1. Intention: Engage / Be Present More. I’m consciously putting down my phone. I’m a pretty good multi-tasker, but scrolling through my newsfeed or messages on my phone while someone is talking to me sends a message that they aren’t as important to me. When I’m with my guy, or my friend, or my mom, or my niece or nephew… when I’m around anyone that’s important to me, and even if they’re not so important to me, I want to be present more. I don’t want to be that person at dinner who is looking at their phone vs the person across from me. I can do better. And my loved ones deserve my attention and interest.

 

  1. Intention: Give / Do Good Things Together. Instead of just doing year end donations or good deeds during the holiday season, make efforts to do good things throughout the year. And do them together. Small yet significant gestures. Collective impact makes a bigger difference and provides deeper connections through shared experiences.

  

  1. Intention: Live / Add More Joy. Create a list of date night ideas. Add in some day trip excursions. Plan to meet up with friends more. Find pleasure in the daily, small things. Laugh. A lot. Breathe… Don’t take life too seriously.

  

  1. Intention: Unwind / Do the Things that Recharge my Soul. I’m not prepping for a big hike this year, but I need to remember that I recharge best when I’m out on a trail or enjoying nature. Trail time, birding, watching the sunsets, exploring. Those are the things I must purposefully make sure I have time carved out for, as they are the very things that nurture and soothe my spirit.

 

  1. Intention: Embrace and Be / Settle In. I have found that I’m most happy where calm lives. Taking a 180 degree turn from years of past living and continual planning mode, I’m embracing and accepting that there doesn’t need to always be “the next thing” on the horizon. I don’t always have to be striving to be more, to grow more, to push myself. It’s okay to be happy with the simple things, to sit and enjoy the cup of coffee, to say no to the workout planned for the day (confession: this is a struggle for me), and to not always have a trip on the horizon (gasp) even though there are always a plethora of half baked options. Settling into myself, I’m finding happy contentment in the presence and calm.

 

2017 turned out to be a fantastic year, but I have a feeling that 2018 is going to be even better, and I can’t wait to see what adventures, joy, and amazing experiences are floating this way.

What intentions are you focusing on?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.